top of page

Winter Holiday in Hakuba 2021

I decided to travel alone during this time of the year. I want to try that SOLO TRAVEL thing and overall, not bad! So those young people who are in their 20's, I absolutely recommend you guys to try Solo traveling. You will learn more about yourself, and it was a good thing for me since you don't have to mind someone whether that person is hungry, or where to go. This time was a moment of silence kind of thing to me and just experience life more. And also, you don't have to relay on someone because all you have is YOURSELF and google.


This trip was a last minute planning kind of trip. I was so busy during November and December that I did not think in advance where to spend Christmas. For sure, I will be traveling, but I do not know where and I don't want to stay in the city. All I knew was that I want to spend my holidays fun and not waste it since I only have a few holiday vacation because of work so I want to cherish it.


I was googling and saw this place HAKUBA. Not known to foreigners (but known to those who love winter activities such as skiing and snowboarding), but this place is a village in the Northern Japanese Alps just outside the city of Nagano. It's known for hosting the 1998 Winter Olympics.

Feels like so far away, right? No, it's only a 4 and a half travel time from Tokyo. So first, I booked a roundtrip bus ticket (www.highwaybus.com) going to Happo one bus terminal since the hotel/ inn that I've booked is near the terminal.


When planning, you have to decide first where to stay. Since Hakuba has 11 ski resorts, I chose Happo one because the bus terminal is near that area. My hotel/inn is just a 2 minute walk from the terminal. I booked my hotel last minute in booking.com.


I stayed in Hakuba ski Kan which is a family run inn. It's a traditional inn were you get to sleep in a traditional Japanese futon. All in all experience at the hotel was good. The owner was very accommodating and nice. I even asked her where to go or eat, and she will recommend you the best and also the nearest in the area. She even gave me so many snacks and cookies during Christmas which by the way taste great.



Upon arrival, my first activity is Paragliding. I booked in advance via online here https://hakubapara.com/tandem-flight-in-winter/. Be sure to wear the right winter clothes because up in the air, it was so cold! This activity cost me 14, 000 yen with photos included taken by the pilot. My overall experience was 10/10. I will definitely do it again. The take-off and landing was super smooth. Up in the air was amazing and breathtaking seeing the whole place in a birds eye view. SPECTACULAR!


The next day, I went to Iwatake Snow Resort. I rode a taxi which cost me 1,700 plus YEN since I just missed the shuttle bus that takes you to the resort for free. There is also the next bus wherein you need to pay for a 500 plus yen but it arrives after 35 minutes. As for, I do not want to waste time and also I'm trying to get there early to avoid crowds. hen I was there, I wanted to snowboard because the snow is so powdery and it was snowing, but the thing is I forgot my snowboard gears like jacket, and goggles. Poor me:(

Do not forget to try the amazing coffee shop the City Baker. The muffin and croissant are delectable. Once I get back to the city, my first order of business is to go o the city bakery (good thing there's a branch back in the city).


wasnt able to take a photo of the muffin and croissant because I ate them right away (super hungry).


I will definitely go back here around January 2022 to snowboard.


love love love,

Klarisse

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page