top of page

BALI DIARY

Updated: Mar 15, 2020

Bali had never been on my radar because I thought that it would be too “touristy”. I mean, the planet is big enough, right? Why does everyone keeps on talking about Bali? Bali Bali Bali... Some people says it's not that clean, it’s not safe, and it’s like most of the South East Asian countries like Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, and so on. So some people asked me why am I going there? Why waste money going there? Why not Korea or Japan or anywhere else? As for me, well I haven't been to Bali, so I had this mixed feeling of excitement and fear. Fear because I have read some blogs saying that you will see lots of monkeys everywhere. As for me, I'm scared of any animals. But well, let's see what experiences Bali offers.



So when I arrived in Bali, I was astounded by the presence of culture. The mere fact that the houses in Bali looks like temple. And everywhere you go, you will see baskets that are made of palm leaves that has flowers, snacks, sculptures made of leaves and of course, incense sticks. I think Bali still preserves their old tradition, beliefs, cultural continuity, and social attitudes.


Aside from that, Bali is known as a “surfing heaven”, with its consistent surf breaks in wonderful sceneries -a heaven for surfers. One of the places that I love in Bali is the Suluban Beach. The fact that you have to go thru a hole to get down to this beach is amazingly unordinary. This beach is not for sunbathing, and also not a beach to relax with kids, because it has very big waves, and always on a high tide form.


You can never experience the culture of one’s country if you haven’t tasted their local food. As for me, I am always in search for that! One of their local food that I’ve tried is the “bakso” which is made of Asian noodles, Chinese balls, tofu, fish balls, soup, and spicy paste (optional). You can find this literally everywhere. My verdict for “bakso” is GOOD. Definitely a MUST to try when you’re in Bali. Another one to try is the “babi guling” or in English it’s a crispy roasted pig, and in the Philippines it is like our “lechon”. My verdict for this is “AMAZING”! Another MUST try to eat.




Let’s talk about being healthy. Bali is also a flora and fauna country. They are rich in flowers and many different kinds of fruits. I was shocked because Bali serves a lot of vegan food. When you are in Canggu or Seminyak, you will see a lot of hippie and instagrammable café’s and resto’s serving mostly vegan food. I am not vegan, but I’m impressed with all the mouthwatering and colorful vegan food. Because of this place, I am now addicted to smoothie bowls. I recommend NALU BOWLS!! It is heaven, for me. I ordered the Uluwatu bowl. It contains smooth dragon fruit blend topped with strawberries, mango, coconut flakes, and honey! I kept on craving for this when I was back to my country.


My overall experience in Bali was over the top kind of feeling. Well, I can say there is something soothing in Bali's beauty. Everything, every single detail is meticulously arranged to be fine and magical. Nothing can disturb my peace of mind here. I think Bali is now my “GO- TO PLACE”. But mostly what I love here is the down-to-earth lifestyle, the laid-back vibes, you will learn to live in a slower pace. Oh Bali, I fell in love with you. The feeling of love at first sight. Can't wait to be back again this July.



Much Love,

Klarisse

https://www.nalubowls.com/


95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáre


bottom of page