top of page

A day in Kawaguchiko

Updated: Nov 27, 2021










I just need a breather from everything so I decided to travel around Mt. Fuji on a Friday since I have no work on Fridays, and I think it's better to go on a weekday than weekends because for sure it will be crowded as it is the best time for "momijigiri" or "autumn leaf hunting".


I woke up around 3:40 A.M to take a bath and prepare my things. I left my house around 4:40 AM (from my house I need to walk 15-20 mins going to the station) since train stations opens at 5:00 AM. And then from Ontakesan station going to Shinjuku station takes around 50 mins (2 train transfer). And then upon arriving at Shinjuku station look for the South exit sign and follow sign. Once you're outside, you will see a building just infront the opposite of the South exit. Cross the road and either take the elevator/escalator. From there, just follow the signs.


I already bought my ticket online, so it's hassle free for me, so need to queue. (It's better to book ahead of time). https://highway-buses.jp/


This is the waiting area (many seats on the other side and also the counter for tickets) inside there's a Family mart so you can buy your last minute breakfast or have some coffee while waiting. There's also a blue screen (like the one in airports where you see the time and flight number) it's the same here also, no need to be confused. And when your bus arrives, just line up and show your ticket to the bus driver (for me, I took a screenshot of my ticket since I preferred E ticket. Easy and paper free). I chose the earliest bus going to Kawaguchiko which is 6:45 AM. The earlier the better, less people. Btw, Tokyo to Kawaguchiko takes around 2 hrs via bus.


And then from Kawaguchiko station, I bought a bus ticket going back to Tokyo since I didn't book a roundtrip, haha. So better to buy ticket when you arrive so there's no queque yet.


My 1st trip is to go to ARAKURAYAMA SENGEN PARK. I took the FUJIKYU RAILWAY LINE platform 3 going to SHIMOYOSHIDA STATION (around 10mins from KAWAGUCHIKO STATION and cost you around 300 plus yen). from there, you need to walk around 15-20 mins. Just follow the signs and if you think that you are lost because you are walking on some countryside neighborhood, no you're not as long as you are following the signs).


P.S : Please wear a comfy shoes if you are planning to go here, because you need to climb 398 steps before you reach the top for a better view of FUJISAN. (But, it's all worth it plus you burned some fats, consider this as a mini hike :))


From here, I went back to the station, and then waited 40 mins for the train going to Kawaguchiko (same train). Local trains in countrysides usually takes longer than in the city. For trains, takes around 40 minutes waiting, and for buses around 20 minutes. So better plan ahead and know the time table of buses most especially (You can get the time table of buses in the Tourist information office in the Kawaguchiko station. As for trains, refer to google map. very reliable).


My next destination is the Oishi park famous for taking FUJISAN up close and with the red bushes. My timing was late, the red bushes withered already. Best time for the red bushes is around September to early November.


To get there: Take the RED BUS from Kawaguchiko station (alight at bus stop #20)


This is the picture I took with FUJISAN with the withered bushes.





Since, I don't have enough time since waiting for the bus is time consuming, after Oishi Park, I headed back to Kawaguchiko, since I booked a ticket at 16:10 (4:10). I decided to eat and just wait at the coffee shop in the station to kill the remaining time.


I had my lunch at this famous restaurant serving only 1 meal which is called "houtou". A staple local dish famous in Yamanashi prefecture. This noodle soup is made up of thick udon noodles, miso based soup with many vegetables such as pumpkin, carrots, cabbage, and mushroom plus a thick tofu like which I do not know the name but it's tasty. For 1, 100 Yen you have a healthy hearty big meal (and by the way I mean big big meal good for 2 person). This is not a simple udon soup because you can taste the freshness of all ingredients. The vegetables are so healthy and fresh and are grown and harvested at the foot of Mt. Fuji.




And that's the end of my KAWAGUCHIKO trip, but I'm definitely coming back maybe 2 weeks from now since I haven't really visited the many places around FUJISAN.


P.S: Going around the area is easy, it's NOT confusing at all. Everything has English, even at the bus (there's Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean translation). And most people at the station can understand English and are friendly. And also there's wifi in the station and also in the highway buses and also sockets for you to charge.



Here's a little video of my trip.




That's all readers, happy reading.

Email me if you have any questions.

Thanks for dropping by.




November 12, 2021

Love love love,

Klarisse










14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page